The Exchange Student

Please post new stories here!
Forum rules
No Negative or Illegal Posting! Read stories and give each feedback!
goodgirl7

The Exchange Student

Post by goodgirl7 » Wed May 01, 2013 3:14 am

„But I told you the grades don’t count towards my grades at home, so why bother?“ Elin looked at her guest Mom Cathy in exasperation. “Who cares whether I do my homework or not?”

Out of the corner of her eye Cathy noticed her own daughter Shannon flinch at Elin’s words. The 18 year old high school senior tried to mutely communicate to their Swedish guest to shut up. Shannon knew from long experience that when her Mom was that angry, it was best not to argue with her. Cathy kept her eyes on Elin though. “I care.”, she said firmly. “While you are staying with us, you will do your best. If you have problems with school work, you can always ask – seeing that I am a teacher myself, and I am sure Shannon would be happy to assist you, too.” Cathy glared at Elin who avoided the stern look by walking across the kitchen to take a bottle of water out of the fridge.

“Not doing your homework is not an option.”, Cathy continued sternly, pushing a strand of red hair out of her face. “Honestly, Elin – school informed me that you have been completely unprepared for three days in a row.” Elin turned back from the fridge and sulkily folded her arms. “So what do you want to do now, sit next to me and watch me do my homework?” Why couldn’t that woman just leave her alone? She hadn’t come on this exchange program to spend her days studying. She wanted to have some fun while she was here!

Cathy tried to keep the anger out of her voice. “You know what, I actually might. But for the time being you are grounded, young lady. Until Monday you will not leave the house for anything but school, is that clear?!”